To provide you with the best experience on this website, cookies are used. By using the site it's assumed that you're happy with our use of cookies. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. More info on cookies.
Allow cookies

Bristol Old Vic Theatre

Add Bristol Old Vic Theatre to your Itinerary

Bristol Old Vic Theatre

About

Built in 1766, Bristol Old Vic is the oldest continuously working theatre in the English speaking world, and remains a place of joy, discovery and adventure to this day.

A multi-million-pound two-phase redevelopment project first provided state of the art rehearsal rooms, a dramatically extended forestage and precision engineered sightlines, giving audiences an even more intimate theatrical experience. The second phase is now complete: the new fully-accessible front of house boasts a bar and kitchen, open sun-up to curtain-down, alongside a new interactive heritage offering and a brand new Studio Theatre.

The theatre’s mission is to create pioneering twenty-first century theatre in partnership with the people of their energetic city; inspired by the history and magical design of the most beautiful playhouse in the country. They are publicly funded by Arts Council England and Bristol City Council, using that investment to support experiment and innovation, to allow access to their programme for people who would not otherwise encounter it or be able to afford it and to keep their extraordinary heritage alive and animated.

Find out 6 things you didn’t know about Bristol Old Vic on our blog.

Take a look at our previews and reviews of theatre in Bristol over on our theatre blog.

Find out about upcoming theatre in Bristol on our event listings page.

Get a brief introduction to theatres in Bristol.

Map & Directions

Road Directions

Find out about the latest on the roads and get travel directions from TravelWest.info

Public Transport Directions

For comprehensive information about getting here by public transport, please visit TravelWest.info

Special Offers

  • A Christmas Carol Afternoon Tea

    The offer: Make an occasion of your visit with a delightful post-matinee Afternoon Tea in the magnificent surroundings of Coopers’ Hall. Including a selection of finger sandwiches, miniature savoury and sweet treats, scones, jam and clotted cream, served to your table with tea or coffee, and hot chocolate or fruit juice for children. Or, for added sparkle, choose our Sparkling or Champagne Afternoon Teas. – Offer available on: Sat 22 Dec, Sun 23 Dec, Thu 27 Dec, Sat 29 Dec, Tue 1 Jan* and Sat 5 Jan.

    How to book: For further details, terms and conditions and to book visit the Bristol Old Vic website.

    Offer link: Christmas

TripAdvisor

TripAdvisor
  • Certificate of Excellence 2018

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:

  • Excellent
    223
  • Very Good
    79
  • Average
    21
  • Poor
    8
  • Terrible
    3

Recent Reviews:

  • Ann_y21_12
    Nottingham, United Kingdom
    Trip Type:
    Couples
    Wonderful historic theatre
    5 of 5 stars
    Sunday, 22nd July 2018
    Staying in Bristol for a few days we decided to go to a performance at this beautiful old theatre. Yes they are doing a lot of work on it at the moment but don’t let this put you off. We saw a... Read full review
  • Travellers1970
    Chicago, Illinois
    Modern but still a piece of Theatre History
    4 of 5 stars
    Monday, 6th August 2018
    Since we have family living is different part of the United Kingdom, when we visit Cornwall we always make a stop in Bristol of attend a performance at the Old Vic. We've never been disappointed with... Read full review
  • DougieFowler
    Thornbury, United Kingdom
    Trip Type:
    Friends getaway
    A fantastic reopening party
    5 of 5 stars
    Wednesday, 26th September 2018
    I was lucky enough to be a ballot winner and attend the grand reopening party when the new extension was unveiled. The whole place is now coordinated and an splendid example of how architects can... Read full review
King Street
Old City
Bristol
BS1 4ED

Tel: +44 (0)117 987 7877

Opening Times

Open (1 Jan 2018 - 31 Dec 2018)

What's Nearby

  1. Brand new development in the heart of Bristol's historic centre of deluxe 1 and 2 bedroom...

    0.1 miles away
  2. City Centre hotel featuring great dining and views of the river

    0.12 miles away
  3. Set in the buzzing heart of Bristol, these apartments are within a short stroll of the...

    0.11 miles away
  1. Stunning hotel in the centre of Bristol, with amazing views and 176 modern guest rooms

    0.14 miles away
  2. These 4 star city centre waterfront apartments are an ideal alternative to hotels,...

    0.14 miles away
  3. As one of the city’s premier places to stay, The Bristol offers visitors a unique...

    0.16 miles away
  4. The stunning refurbished Brooks Guest House Bristol is a boutique guesthouse, the most...

    0.16 miles away
  5. Bunk Beds in dorms or private rooms.Sociable lounge, bar and kitchen.ID required to check...

    0.18 miles away
  6. YHA Bristol is in an impressive refurbished warehouse on the quayside in Bristol's...

    0.18 miles away
  7. With 42 luxury bedrooms, some with spectacular views over St Nicholas Market and Bristol...

    0.19 miles away
  8. Luxurious and historic hotel by Bristol’s waterfront, offering excellent leisure...

    0.2 miles away
  9. The four-star Mercure Bristol Grand on Broad Street, Bristol has had an extensive...

    0.26 miles away
  10. Luxury, city centre, serviced apartments available for stays from a one night to a few...

    0.28 miles away
  11. High quality deluxe apartments situated in a prime location for exploring all the sites...

    0.31 miles away
  12. The Rock N Bowl Hostel, located right in Bristol's buzzing City Centre, is the perfect...

    0.32 miles away
  13. Being located near Bristol Temple Meads makes this modern hotel and spa perfect for...

    0.33 miles away
Previous Next

Related

Tuesday, 19th March 2019 - Saturday, 23rd March 2019

Touching the Void at Bristol Old VicTouching the Void at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Thursday, 29th November 2018 - Sunday, 13th January 2019

A Christmas Carol at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Tuesday, 23rd April 2019 - Wednesday, 24th April 2019

Ballet Black at Bristol Old VicBallet Black at Bristol Old Vic
more info

1766 Bar and Kitchen, Old City

Friday, 18th January 2019 - Sunday, 20th January 2019

Slapstick Takeover at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Friday, 14th December 2018 - Saturday, 22nd December 2018

Living Spit’s Nativity at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Friday, 30th November 2018 - Sunday, 6th January 2019

Chloe and the Colour Catcher at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Saturday, 8th December 2018 - Sunday, 6th January 2019

Igloo at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Wednesday, 9th January 2019 - Saturday, 12th January 2019

Hercules at Bristol Old VicHercules at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Saturday, 9th February 2019 - Saturday, 23rd February 2019

Princess & The Hustler at Bristol Old VicPrincess & The Hustler at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Sunday, 7th April 2019 - Monday, 8th April 2019

Acts of Resistance at Bristol Old VicActs of Resistance at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Friday, 1st March 2019 - Saturday, 13th April 2019

Richard III at Bristol Old VicRichard III at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Tuesday, 12th March 2019 - Saturday, 16th March 2019

Noughts & Crosses at Bristol Old VicNoughts & Crosses at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Tuesday, 26th March 2019 - Saturday, 30th March 2019

Institute at Bristol Old VicInstitute at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Friday, 22nd February 2019 - Sunday, 24th February 2019

The Singing Mermaid at Bristol Old VicThe Singing Mermaid at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Tuesday, 16th April 2019 - Saturday, 20th April 2019

Equus at Bristol Old VicEquus at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Tuesday, 30th April 2019 - Saturday, 11th May 2019

1972: The Future of Sex at Bristol Old Vic1972: The Future of Sex at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Thursday, 2nd May 2019 - Saturday, 18th May 2019

Barber Shop Chronicles at Bristol Old VicBarber Shop Chronicles at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Tuesday, 21st May 2019 - Saturday, 25th May 2019

The Remains of the Day at Bristol Old VicThe Remains of the Day at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Wednesday, 29th May 2019 - Saturday, 1st June 2019

In The Willows at Bristol Old VicIn The Willows at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Tuesday, 25th June 2019 - Saturday, 29th June 2019

One Night in Miami... at Bristol Old VicOne Night in Miami... at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Tuesday, 2nd July 2019 - Saturday, 13th July 2019

Dead Dog in a Suitcase at Bristol Old VicDead Dog in a Suitcase at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Sunday, 3rd February 2019 - Sunday, 3rd February 2019

Love: What's the Point at Bristol Old VicLove: What's the Point at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Sunday, 21st April 2019 - Sunday, 21st April 2019

Sean Mahoney: Until You Hear That Bell at Bristol Old VicSean Mahoney: Until You Hear That Bell at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Thursday, 25th April 2019 - Thursday, 25th April 2019

Impermanence Baal at Bristol Old VicImpermanence Baal at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Saturday, 27th April 2019 - Sunday, 28th April 2019

BalletBoyz: Them/Us at Bristol Old VicBalletBoyz: Them/Us at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Sunday, 19th May 2019 - Sunday, 19th May 2019

Foil, Arms & Hog at Bristol Old VicFoil, Arms & Hog at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Sunday, 26th May 2019 - Sunday, 26th May 2019

Henning Wehn at Bristol Old VicHenning Wehn at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Sunday, 13th October 2019 - Sunday, 13th October 2019

James Acaster at Bristol Old VicJames Acaster at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Wednesday, 23rd January 2019 - Saturday, 16th February 2019

Wise Children at Bristol Old VicWise Children at Bristol Old Vic
more info

Search For What's Nearby

Product Type
Proximity
Within miles