To provide you with the best experience on this website, cookies are used. By using the site it's assumed that you're happy with our use of cookies. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. More info on cookies.
Allow cookies

Tyntesfield

Add Tyntesfield to your Itinerary

Tyntesfield

About

At its heart Tyntesfield is a Victorian country house and estate, which serves as a backdrop to the remarkable story of four generations of the Gibbs family. Their tale charts the accumulation of wealth from the guano trade, transformation of a Georgian house to a Victorian Gothic masterpiece and the collection of over 50,000 objects.

Their achievements are celebrated through ornate Gothic carvings, flower-filled terraces and an expansive estate amid the Somerset countryside. With each visit you'll experience a new side of Tyntesfield, as they close one door and open another.

For young explorers we have three play areas; including a woodland adventure and sculpture trail. Packed activities programme including open air theatre, food and craft markets (first Sunday of each month April to November) and living history.

Eating and shopping: Home Farm visitor centre offers year-round homemade dishes using estate-grown ingredients. Shop with plant sales, second-hand bookshop and small play area. For light bites while exploring, try the Pavilion Café or The Cow Barn.

Nearby Prior's Wood Nature Reserve was once part of the Tyntesfield Estate and is the ideal place for getting away from the busy city.

Dogs: Dogs on short leads are welcome in specified areas of the Tyntesfield estate, please pick up an estate map from the Ticket Office on arrival. Check out our top 10 dog walks in Bristol.

Tyntesfield also features on our list of the top 20 spring walks around Bristol.

Find out about Bristol's historic and heritage sites.

 

Extras

Accessibility

  • Facilities for Hearing Impaired Visitors - Hearing loop and Braille guide available at Visitor Reception.
  • Facilities for Visually Impaired Visitors - Touch Map
  • Guide Dogs Permitted
  • Parking Areas for Disabled Visitors
  • Ramp/Level Access
  • Toilets for Disabled Visitors

Attraction Facilities

  • Shop

Catering

  • On-Site café/restaurant

Establishment Features

  • Conference facilities
  • Dogs Accepted - On woodland walks only
  • Event Venue
  • Printed Material in Foreign Languages - German, French
  • Tea / Coffee Shop
  • Toilets

Key Features

  • In countryside
  • Indoor Attraction
  • Max group size - 53
  • Min group size - 15 or 30 if part of a coach booking.
  • Outdoor Attraction

Parking & Transport

  • On site parking - Minimum 450m walk to house entrance. Mobility vehicle available.

Payment Methods

  • Blue Badge Guides admitted free
  • Special group rates - 15%
  • TIC Staff Admitted Free

Tours and Demonstrations

  • Demonstrations Given
  • Educational Visits Accepted
  • Guided Tours Available for Groups
  • Guided Tours Available for Individuals

Venue Facilities

  • Groups Accepted - Essential to prebook.

Video

  • Discover Tyntesfield

Map & Directions

Road Directions

Find out about the latest on the roads and get travel directions from TravelWest.info

Public Transport Directions

For comprehensive information about getting here by public transport, please visit TravelWest.info

Guide Prices

The Gift Aid admission prices include a 10% voluntary donation. Alternatively, you can choose to pay the standard admission prices which are displayed at the property. Please note admission to the house on weekends and during busy periods is by timed ticket. Please arrive early to avoid disappointment.
National Trust members enjoy free admission to Tyntesfield. If you would like to become a member of the National Trust, please speak to one of our team on the day.

TripAdvisor

TripAdvisor
  • Certificate of Excellence 2018

TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:

  • Excellent
    746
  • Very Good
    385
  • Average
    106
  • Poor
    44
  • Terrible
    38

Recent Reviews:

  • Julie N
    Newport, United Kingdom
    Trip Type:
    Couples
    National treasure needs a narrative
    4 of 5 stars
    Thursday, 31st January 2019
    First visit to a beautiful house and garden which was free as a National Trust member, but costs a lot if not. Was really impressed with the house and garden however, there was a lack of volunteers... Read full review
  • happyholsforever
    england
    Trip Type:
    Couples
    Visiting in Winter
    4 of 5 stars
    Wednesday, 13th February 2019
    Tyntesfield is a beautiful house with stunning grounds but please be aware that at this particular time (February 2019) the house is only open for guided tours which necessitate a ticket from... Read full review
  • Jack K
    Silverdale, United Kingdom
    Trip Type:
    Couples
    Beautifully laid out grounds
    4 of 5 stars
    Thursday, 14th February 2019
    Visited the gardens of this National trust property and found it be beautifully laid out and cared for, but would like to return and see the estate in full bloom. Read full review
Wraxall
Bristol
Somerset
BS48 1NX

Tel: +44 (0)1275 461900

Opening Times

Opening (1 Jan 2019 - 31 Dec 2019)

What's Nearby

  1. This delightful mid-19th century estate cottage (Grade II listed) is the perfect base for...

    0.38 miles away
  2. Chaplain's House is a picturesque mid-Victorian lodge built in the 1890s. Set over three...

    0.38 miles away
  3. Beautifully restored and once home to the family’s butler, Chaplain's Lodge has two...

    0.38 miles away
  1. A beautifully revamped Georgian country house hotel with 9 individually designed ensuite...

    1.31 miles away
  2. Attractive and spacious 19thC Listed self-catering cottage in the West Town conservation...

    2.54 miles away
  3. Based just 250 meters from Bristol Airport, this 201 bedroom hotel is the ultimate choice...

    3.51 miles away
  4. Famous hotel that sits right on top of the spectacular Avon Gorge, with views of the...

    3.85 miles away
  5. Two double bedroom apartment situated in a quiet residential area of Clifton, yet only 5...

    4.01 miles away
  6. A Georgian mansion hotel with fantastic restaurant, near the Clifton Suspension Bridge.

    4.11 miles away
  7. Merchants Road Apartment in Clifton comes with two parking spaces, plus close to all...

    4.19 miles away
  8. The Lodge offers luxury accommodation and exotic animals just outside your window. With...

    4.21 miles away
  9. The Lodge offers luxury accommodation and exotic animals just outside your window. With...

    4.21 miles away
  10. This friendly hotel comprises two gracious listed Victorian Houses (circa 1870) situated...

    4.27 miles away
  11. Luxurious serviced apartments in a classical Georgian terraced house overlooking Victoria...

    4.34 miles away
  12. Luxury developed flats nestled in Clifton providing the home away from home.

    4.45 miles away
  13. Clifton Short Lets offer short term accommodation situated in the heart of Clifton. The...

    4.54 miles away
Previous Next

Related

Friday, 22nd February 2019 - Friday, 22nd February 2019

Friday, 8th March 2019 - Friday, 8th March 2019

Friday, 22nd March 2019 - Friday, 22nd March 2019

Friday, 5th April 2019 - Friday, 5th April 2019

Friday, 3rd May 2019 - Friday, 3rd May 2019

Friday, 17th May 2019 - Friday, 17th May 2019

Friday, 31st May 2019 - Friday, 31st May 2019

Friday, 14th June 2019 - Friday, 14th June 2019

Friday, 28th June 2019 - Friday, 28th June 2019

Friday, 12th July 2019 - Friday, 12th July 2019

Friday, 26th July 2019 - Friday, 26th July 2019

Friday, 9th August 2019 - Friday, 9th August 2019

Friday, 23rd August 2019 - Friday, 23rd August 2019

Friday, 6th September 2019 - Friday, 6th September 2019

Friday, 20th September 2019 - Friday, 20th September 2019

Friday, 4th October 2019 - Friday, 4th October 2019

Friday, 18th October 2019 - Friday, 18th October 2019

Friday, 1st November 2019 - Friday, 1st November 2019

Friday, 15th November 2019 - Friday, 15th November 2019

Friday, 29th November 2019 - Friday, 29th November 2019

Friday, 13th December 2019 - Friday, 13th December 2019

Friday, 27th December 2019 - Friday, 27th December 2019

Feel Good Friday 5k at TyntesfieldFeel Good Friday 5k at Tyntesfield
more info

Wednesday, 24th April 2019 - Thursday, 25th April 2019

TYNTEtots: The Owl and the Pussycat at Tyntesfield
more info

Monday, 18th February 2019 - Friday, 22nd February 2019

February half term at TyntesfieldFebruary half term at Tyntesfield
more info

Monday, 4th February 2019 - Friday, 1st March 2019

'Work Hard' storytelling tours at Tyntesfield'Work Hard' storytelling tours at Tyntesfield
more info

Wednesday, 27th February 2019 - Thursday, 28th February 2019

TYNTEtots: Thumbelina at Tyntesfield
more info

Saturday, 6th April 2019 - Monday, 22nd April 2019

The Gibbs Family Cadbury Easter Egg Hunt at Tyntesfield
The Gibbs Family Cadbury Easter Egg Hunt at Tyntesfield
more info

Sunday, 26th May 2019 - Sunday, 26th May 2019

Family green woodworking at TyntesfieldFamily green woodworking at Tyntesfield
more info

Sunday, 19th May 2019 - Sunday, 19th May 2019

Sunday, 16th June 2019 - Sunday, 16th June 2019

Sunday, 21st July 2019 - Sunday, 21st July 2019

Sunday, 18th August 2019 - Sunday, 18th August 2019

Sunday, 15th September 2019 - Sunday, 15th September 2019

Sunday, 20th October 2019 - Sunday, 20th October 2019

Sunday, 17th November 2019 - Sunday, 17th November 2019

Seasonal food and craft markets at TyntesfieldSeasonal food and craft markets at Tyntesfield
more info

Wednesday, 20th March 2019 - Wednesday, 20th March 2019

Thursday, 21st March 2019 - Thursday, 21st March 2019

TYNTEtots: The Little Red Hen at TyntesfieldTYNTEtots: The Little Red Hen at Tyntesfield
more info

Saturday, 30th March 2019 - Saturday, 30th March 2019

Saturday, 29th June 2019 - Saturday, 29th June 2019

Saturday, 28th September 2019 - Saturday, 28th September 2019

Seasonal boundary walks at TyntesfieldSeasonal boundary walks at Tyntesfield
more info

Thursday, 23rd May 2019 - Friday, 24th May 2019

Friday, 24th May 2019 - Friday, 24th May 2019

TYNTEtots: Peter Rabbit at TyntesfieldTYNTEtots: Peter Rabbit at Tyntesfield
more info

Monday, 27th May 2019 - Friday, 31st May 2019

A very Victorian birthday party at TyntesfieldA very Victorian birthday party at Tyntesfield
more info

Saturday, 7th September 2019 - Saturday, 7th September 2019

Tuesday, 24th September 2019 - Tuesday, 24th September 2019

Autumn sketching tour at TyntesfieldAutumn sketching tour at Tyntesfield
more info

Saturday, 21st September 2019 - Sunday, 22nd September 2019

Saturday, 14th December 2019 - Sunday, 15th December 2019

Creating a stool or coffee table at TyntesfieldMake a stool or coffee table at Tyntesfield
more info

Wednesday, 18th September 2019 - Thursday, 19th September 2019

TYNTEtots: The Ugly Duckling at TyntesfieldTYNTEtots: The Ugly Duckling at Tyntesfield
more info

Saturday, 16th February 2019 - Sunday, 3rd March 2019

Work Hard Family Trail at Tyntesfield. Credit Peter HallWork Hard Family Trail at Tyntesfield
more info

Friday, 16th August 2019 - Friday, 16th August 2019

Alice in Wonderland with Immersion Theatre at TyntesfieldAlice in Wonderland with Immersion Theatre at Tyntesfield
more info

Sunday, 24th February 2019 - Sunday, 24th February 2019

Sunday, 24th March 2019 - Sunday, 24th March 2019

Sunday, 28th April 2019 - Sunday, 28th April 2019

Sunday, 23rd June 2019 - Sunday, 23rd June 2019

Sunday, 28th July 2019 - Sunday, 28th July 2019

Sunday, 22nd September 2019 - Sunday, 22nd September 2019

Trust 10k Run at Tyntesfield. Credit Peter HallTrust 10k Run at Tyntesfield
more info

Wednesday, 17th July 2019 - Thursday, 18th July 2019

TYNTEtots: Jack and the Beanstalk at TyntesfieldTYNTEtots: Jack and the Beanstalk at Tyntesfield
more info

Wednesday, 19th June 2019 - Thursday, 20th June 2019

TYNTEtots: Alice in Wonderland at TyntesfieldTYNTEtots: Alice in Wonderland at Tyntesfield
more info

Tuesday, 23rd July 2019 - Tuesday, 23rd July 2019

Thursday, 25th July 2019 - Thursday, 25th July 2019

Tuesday, 30th July 2019 - Tuesday, 30th July 2019

Thursday, 1st August 2019 - Thursday, 1st August 2019

Tuesday, 13th August 2019 - Tuesday, 13th August 2019

Thursday, 15th August 2019 - Thursday, 15th August 2019

Tuesday, 20th August 2019 - Tuesday, 20th August 2019

Thursday, 22nd August 2019 - Thursday, 22nd August 2019

Tuesday, 27th August 2019 - Wednesday, 28th August 2019

Thursday, 29th August 2019 - Thursday, 29th August 2019

Wonders of the walled garden: family workshops at TyntesfieldWonders of the walled garden: family workshops at Tyntesfield
more info

Wednesday, 7th August 2019 - Thursday, 8th August 2019

TYNTEfest 2019: Beatrix Potter tales at TyntesfieldTYNTEfest 2019: Beatrix Potter tales at Tyntesfield
more info

Sunday, 28th July 2019 - Sunday, 28th July 2019

Spoon carving at TyntesfieldSpoon carving at Tyntesfield
more info

Sunday, 25th August 2019 - Sunday, 25th August 2019

Carve a Celtic knot at Tyntesfield
Carve a Celtic knot at Tyntesfield
more info

Saturday, 22nd June 2019 - Saturday, 22nd June 2019

Tuesday, 9th July 2019 - Tuesday, 9th July 2019

Summer sketching tour at TyntesfieldSummer sketching tour at Tyntesfield
more info

Monday, 12th August 2019 - Saturday, 17th August 2019

Saturday, 21st September 2019 - Thursday, 26th September 2019

Make a Windsor chair with the Somerset Bodgers at Tyntesfield
Make a Windsor chair with the Somerset Bodgers at Tyntesfield
more info

Sunday, 9th June 2019 - Sunday, 9th June 2019

Make a one leg stool at Tyntesfield
Make a one leg stool at Tyntesfield
more info

Saturday, 27th April 2019 - Saturday, 27th April 2019

Tuesday, 14th May 2019 - Tuesday, 14th May 2019

Spring sketching tour at Tyntesfield
Spring sketching tour at Tyntesfield
more info

Friday, 14th June 2019 - Friday, 14th June 2019

Much Ado About Nothing with the HandleBards at Tyntesfield
Much Ado About Nothing with the HandleBards at Tyntesfield
more info

Monday, 25th March 2019 - Friday, 29th March 2019

Mother's Day Card Making and Afternoon Tea at TyntesfieldMother's Day Card Making and Afternoon Tea at Tyntesfield
more info

Saturday, 30th March 2019 - Sunday, 31st March 2019

Mother's Day Bath Salts Making at TyntesfieldMother's Day Bath Salts Making at Tyntesfield
more info

Saturday, 30th March 2019 - Sunday, 31st March 2019

Mother's Day Weekend Afternoon Tea at Tyntesfield. Credit Jason IngramMother's Day Weekend Afternoon Tea at Tyntesfield
more info

Search For What's Nearby

Product Type
Proximity
Within miles